Unit Citation – Midnight Shift Personnel (7/10/19)


During the most recent meeting of the Board of Police Commissioners on July, 10, 2019, the following personnel were recognized for their actions described below:

  • Sergeant Jeremy Zdru
  • Sergeant Christopher Mastronardi
  • Officer Evan Kaesmann
  • Officer Ryan Mignone
  • Officer Donald Matejek
  • Officer Charles Ricco
  • Officer Franck DeAngelis
  • Officer Sean Fenton
  • Officer Romaine Chamberlain
  • Officer Jenna Racz
  • Officer Frank DiMarco
  • Officer Edward Terifay

On March 16, 2019, Officers working on the midnight shift received a report that a stolen car equipped with GPS technology was in the Mill River Road area of town.  Prior to making contact with the car, supervisors established a perimeter with officers ready to deploy spike strips in order to reduce the risk of a vehicle pursuit.

Two officers then began a search of the area and quickly located the stolen car. The car drove at the officers and then over lawns in an attempt to flee. A perimeter officer deployed spike strips successfully and punctured two of the cars tires. The stolen car continued to flee on two flat tires with officers in pursuit. Four suspects soon jumped from the moving car and fled on foot. Officers along with a K9 chased the suspects through the woods and the Mill River. They ultimately took all four into custody. The investigation revealed that the four suspects were convicted felons from New Haven and had burglarized numerous cars in Fairfield, as well as surrounding towns. The success of these arrests and the ensuing investigation was a direct result of the midnight shift officers’ coordination, teamwork and dedication to duty. They are most deserving of a unit citation.