Police Commission

Page Header Here

The Police Commission works with the Police Chief on matters concerning and affecting the Police Department.  Members of the Police Commission are appointed by the Fairfield Board of Selectmen and each member serves a term of five (5) years.

Some of the powers and duties of the Police Commission are: 

  • General management and supervision of the Police Department and of all property and equipment used by or in connection with the operation of the department;
  • Create and maintain rules and regulations consistent with the General Statutes and the Charter for the governance of the Police Department and its personnel, and may prescribe penalties for violations of its rules and regulations;
  • Appoint and promote to all positions in the Police Department, including the position of Chief of Police.
  • Determine the qualifications for each rank and grade in the Police Department
  • Determine the number of officers and other employees of the police department and of the several ranks and grades and their compensation.
More information on the Police Commission can be found here


Peter Ambrose R Chairman (2023) 11/22 - 11/27 AmbrosePeter.png  
Kevin Kiley D Secretary (2023) 11/19 - 11/24 Kiley_Kevin.png  
Joseph P. Cafferelli U Commissioner 11/20 - 11/25 CafferelliJoseph_sm.png  
James Millington R Commissioner 11/21 - 11/26 MillingtonJames_sm.png  
John E. Stone, Jr. R Commissioner 11/20 - 11/25 StoneJack_sm.png  
Charlene Lebo D Commissioner 11/22 - 11/27 Lebo2018-sm.png  
Ron Pine R Commissioner 11/18 - 11/23 Pine2018-sm-1.png  

Meetings & Contact


2nd Wednesday of every Month

Time: 4:30PM

Fairfield Police Headquarters
100 Reef Road
Fairfield, CT 06824

(unless otherwise noted)